17/4/2012 11:11:28 pm

How was the Kindle publishing process? Is there a steep learning curve? Oh, I tried to subscribe to the site but the RSS feed didn't do what I expected it to. Is there another subscription option?

Reply
TRM
18/4/2012 02:24:31 am

Oh my sainted aunt, I have a comment on my blog!

Ahem.

The publishing process is astonishingly easy I have found. Very little formatting is required to make something look pretty good on a Kindle, just common sense stuff all done in Word. Amazon do the rest.

As to the RSS feed, to be honest I haven't the first clue. Never used one. Didn't even know this blog had one ... What does it do?

Reply
18/4/2012 02:44:52 am

'my sainted aunt' - LOL! Thank you for that little chuckle. We'll have to do our best to multiply them.

As for RSS feeds (little orange box in your right hand sidebar), typically RSS feeds are how a reader subscribes to a blog. There are often two choices: posts and/or comments. Weebly doesn't seem to have this feature implemented as a default in they're website templates. The button is there but its broken on this site and another Weebly site I visited recently. If you have any web design control over your template look for a subscribe function and add it to the site. Currently I can only get comment updates on posts I've commented on. I use Wordpress and am not familiar with Weebly's inner workings, but something like RSS should be standardized. Of course, you can always use Authonomy or Griffin's Quill for all your website needs! Feel free to start an AWB group on GQ if you want.

Reply
18/4/2012 02:46:12 am

'my sainted aunt' - LOL! Thank you for that little chuckle. We'll have to do our best to multiply them.

As for RSS feeds (little orange box in your right hand sidebar), typically RSS feeds are how a reader subscribes to a blog. There are often two choices: posts and/or comments. Weebly doesn't seem to have this feature implemented as a default in they're website templates. The button is there but its broken on this site and another Weebly site I visited recently. If you have any web design control over your template look for a subscribe function and add it to the site. Currently I can only get comment updates on posts I've commented on. I use Wordpress and am not familiar with Weebly's inner workings, but something like RSS should be standardized. Of course, you can always use Authonomy or Griffin's Quill for all your website needs! Feel free to start an AWB group on GQ if you want.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    August 2012
    October 2011
    September 2011
    May 2011

    Categories

    All
    Musings
    Publications